Day 1: In the Beginning…


This is a pic of me just 2 months ago, at my current weight. Not too bad considering what I looked like a year ago!

I began a new food/diet/nutrition program today. I just purchased The Diet Solution Program, by nutritionist/trainer Isabel De Los Rios, online and began to read the manual and the quick start guide. I spent yesterday trying to gather everything I needed to get started and eating some things from the menu. I quickly found out, taking the metabolism type test, that I am a “Protein Type” and began to follow the program for my type.

Basically, I will be giving up sugar, wine, processed foods, bread and other starchy carbs in an effort to kick-start my metabolism. I’m hoping this program is going to be the right one for me. It seems I’ve invested way too much time, effort and money into programs that just “didn’t fit” in the past. This one seems to be a little more tailored to the individual and I’m hoping it will be the factor that makes the difference.

In recent years, I’ve become increasingly concerned about nutrition, processed food and all the crazy chemicals they contain, and the health of my family. My five year old son was diagnosed with ADHD and I was vigilant in my research, discovering links to ADHD and other chemicals in most of our food supply. I devoured all the info I could find.

Since those days, I’ve been on a crusade to find ways around the processed food lifestyle without making my family feel like they’re being deprived. I’m still hunting…maybe I will find a way. Mostly I just try to buy the right things at the grocery and prepare healthy, home-cooked meals.

Right now, my main focus is on eliminating so much sugar from my family’s diet. I can’t control what happens outside of the house, but at least I’ll have some control over what’s in our home.

This is me at my very worst - 165 lbs. I hate this pic but I will always keep it around to remind me just how awful I felt, looked and thought of myself at that time. This was June 2009.

Also, my personal goal is to drop the additional 25 lbs I still haven’t been able to lose. You can read my whole story here. I lost 25 lbs already and I’m halfway there. But I’ve stalled out and need to refocus myself and get back on the “losing” track. My husband, Denny, and I have been lifting weights together a couple to three days a week. He is visibly building muscle, but anything I’ve put on is hidden under the layers of fat. I would like to get to a point where the muscle is visible and I look good in my clothes.

So, back to the plan…I’m hoping that this plan will give me some good insight as to how to really feed myself and my family to our metabolic types. I believe Denny is the opposite of me, which would explain a lot, so I may have to be creative. Right now, he’s not so keen on giving up all sugars yet. But at least I’ve gotten him to cut down substantially in the past year or two. He no longer drinks sodas all day and is really trying to drink more water…even if he has to add a flavor packet to do it. So, that’s something…

I think I’ve known all along that I needed to let go of the starches and the sugar and the wine, I just kept putting it off. It seems like a lot to give up. Even though I know I’ll feel better and get the results I’ve not been able to achieve up to now. But then, what would you give up to get so much in return?

So, now is the time to really commit and get healthy…for good!

Well, here’s to a big start!

To a healthier, happier, longer life!

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

