Day 2: So Far, So Good…


Halloween carnival 2010

So, today I woke up and noticed that I was breathing out of my nose without any “obstruction.” That is very unusual for me. Now I’m beginning to wonder if I’m not just sensitive, but allergic to some kinds of foods. Weird.

Well, the first day went pretty well, except in the late afternoon I felt the onset of PMS. Ugh! I was cramping and irritable all afternoon and into the evening. But I was firm and didn’t really cave too badly. My worst indulgence of the day was a banana with all-natural peanut butter and half of an Honest-ade (which I love!)

Today I woke up feeling good! I wasn’t bloated, groggy or overly tired. Really, I just felt good. Not “let’s have a big party, jump up and down” great…just pretty good. And I was happy with that.

In the afternoon, I started to feel the pangs of sweet-mama-gimme-some-chocolate cravings! I’m assuming this is partly due to my PMS. But, instead of torturing myself, I let myself have a small square of dark (70% cacao) chocolate and left it at that. It seemed to be enough to satisfy my tongue and I was able to go on with my day.

One thing I’ve noticed since I started this (and admittedly, I’ve really been trying to recognize cues from my body when I feed it anything) is that when I eat protein, meat especially, I break out into a gentle perspiration. Yes, I actually sweat! It’s weird, but it’s like my body turns into a furnace from the inside whenever I give it some good, thick meat! The other night I made T-bone steaks for dinner and was sweating so much I needed to go outside to cool off! Weird, huh? Maybe it’s just me…

One thing I know I need to do is increase my water intake. I’ve really been slacking on that lately (and replacing it with wine?..probably not the best idea.) So, I’m trying to finish two 1.5 liter bottles per day. I’m on the second one for today right now. The more I drink water, the more I want to. But when I get into a pattern of not drinking it, I seem to spiral downward into almost none. So, that’s a goal I have that I’m really trying to stick to.

Before I go any further, I think I should put my stats out there as a starting point and a reference. So, here goes:

Measurements:

  • Chest: 39.5
  • Lower abs: 39.5
  • Waist: 38
  • Hips: 41
  • Thighs: 20.5
  • Arms: 11
  • Body weight: 146

*All measurements are in inches and pounds.

This is me in 2006 (in Mexico) before the enormous weight-gain. This may be the last pic of me in a 2-piece. I wasn't perfect then, but at least I felt comfortable in a bikini at that time.

So, there they are…for the world to see. This is my accountability and I’m hoping you will hold me to my goals and keep me on my game. I need to lose 25 more lbs in order to get to my “healthy” weight. But more important than my weight is my body fat percentage. Currently I’m at about 28% and I want to decrease that by 10% by next summer. I’m just dying to get back into that bikini again!! Plus, my cousin back home has challenged me to a contest…the winner buys the other a steak dinner at Del Frisco’s! And that’s my kinda prize…

On another note, I did something today that I should have done in the days before I purchased the DSP: I did some research on the internet to see what I could find (negative or positive) about the Diet Solution Program. I found a lot of ads, of course. WebMD really kinda pissed me off…they had some doctor “review” the plan who slammed it up and down and then promoted her own diet book. That seems a little biased, if you ask me. But overall, I found lots of comments on different sites, lots of reviews and such that all support the program. Like I said, I should have done that before I jumped into it, but it made me feel like I wasn’t crazy to read all the positives from different people who’ve actually tried it.

Incidentally, most of the negative stuff I read was from people who said they didn’t get the program. I think there may have been some technical bugs in the beginning, but I think they have all been worked out by now. I didn’t find anyone who said the program didn’t work or that it was a scam (aside from the ones who were ranting, even after they got their money refunded, that the site was just taking money and not delivering a product.)

The basic principles of the program are common sense. I have a thing for eating cleaner these days and apparently Isabel De Los Rios is like that, too, just to a greater extreme. She advocates extremely clean eating, including raw milk (unpasteurized, non-homogenized) raw nuts, organic fruits and vegetables and little, if any, processed foods. But she even admits it took her three years to implement all of her advice. And she doesn’t recommend that anyone do it all at once either.

Also, her program has been compared a bit to the Atkin’s Diet. But, more accurately, it’s more of an evolution of Atkin’s, South Beach and any low-carb diet that has come around before. And because it addresses the idea of metabolic type and eating the right choices for your type, it’s really unlike any of them at all. Even for me who’s a Protein type. I still eat carbs, I just have to choose them more carefully than a person who is a Carb type.

The one similarity is in the grains. Grains are nothing more than sugar waiting to happen once they hit your bloodstream. And for that reason, Isabel, like Atkins and the others, recommends everyone avoid them as much as possible. This includes bread, pasta, cereal, crackers, corn and potatoes. (Yes, corn is a grain and NOT a vegetable!)

So, yes, there are some similarities, but the strength of the program, I believe, will be in the differences.  First and foremost, the program is not a one-size-fits-all diet. It’s a customized lifestyle format.

And here I am at the tail end of day two, feeling flushed and light in my shoes. It’s only been two days, but I already feel “cleaner” on the inside. One of the strangest things to happen to me today is that I’ve forgotten to eat! I NEVER do that! EVER. I don’t go long without eating before my blood sugar crashes and I get cranky and start snapping at everyone. (Just ask my husband!) So, for me to forget to eat one of the FIVE meals I eat each day is unnatural. But I feel pretty good! I’m happy so far…

To a healthier, happier and longer life

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

