Day 4: Am I “Carb-Sensitive?”


I did not sleep well last night. I tossed and turned all night and finally got up at 5:30am. I tried to go back to sleep for half an hour before throwing in the towel and just getting up. I didn’t want to wake up my husband who got home late from his second job. So, I came downstairs and made some coffee and started reading stuff on the internet. I could feel I was tired, physically, but my mind was going 900 miles per hour and there was just no way to slow it down. So, I gave it something to do…READ.

I also felt like I had a huge rock sitting in my gut. I guess all the water I’d been drinking was starting to work because  just a little while after I got up I started making trips to the bathroom. I’m not kidding when I say I actually had four BMs before anyone else in my house got out of bed. It felt like a detox! Which, of course, it may have been. It’s been several days since I’ve had any starchy carbs or sugar so maybe my body was rewarding me, thanking me. Either way, it sure made my morning. And in fact, it made the whole rest of the day wonderful! It’s amazing what a little nudge from Mother Nature can do for your disposition.

There was one downside to today…I woke up with a headache and it never really went away. Yesterday I noticed that I had run out of allergy meds and forgot to refill my prescription. So, I didn’t have anything to take for my allergies all day. This would be day two without allergy meds and I was wondering if that might be the culprit. It’s hard to say for sure, though, as I’ve been basically detoxing my body for the past three to four days. It could be either one.

The great thing is my headache, being a bit on the dull and achy side, didn’t affect my mood. I was in the BEST mood all day. Even dare I say, frisky! Yes, my husband didn’t mind at all that I was a little playful, very touchy-feely and all smiles all day long. We really had a great day together! 😉

We had some chores we needed to finish and I never lost steam all day. That’s a first. I typically get so tired, especially in the afternoons, and lose my drive to get things done. I have trouble focusing on things and I’m never motivated to do anything late in the day. And it only gets worse the later it gets in the day. By the evening, I’m more like a blob stuck to the couch than a person. It takes every bit of energy I have to get anything done if it happens past 1pm.

So, this renewed energy, which I’ve been experiencing over the past few days, got me to wondering if there really might be something chemically altered by this eating plan. What if I am actually carb-sensitive? What if I have some kind of food allergy or intolerance that has been keeping me fatigued, bloated, gassy, and lethargic all this time. It must have come on slowly enough that I didn’t notice any big changes. I just know that this past week has been a complete 180 degree turn around for me. I feel better on the inside. All of the aforementioned ailments are gone. I have energy and focus, even in the evening. It’s been strange and wonderful.

I started to look into carb-sensitivity to find out what the symptoms are. It turns out that my symptoms point to just exactly that. According to what I’ve gathered from my internet research, carb-sensitivity usually comes on as you age. And the older you get, the more sensitive you can become to carbs.

Not everyone is the same so some carbs may be okay while others send your body into a tailspin. But basically, as we age, our bodies could lose their ability  to process carbs (especially starchy carbs like bread, pasta and cereal) properly, which also triggers elevated insulin production. Once your insulin  stops working properly, you become a candidate for the whole host of health ailments including Type II Diabetes and heart disease. Not good.

I also read up on gluten intolerance, gluten/wheat allergy and Celiac disease. Most of the symptoms of these diseases/disorders are the same. The only way to find out for sure if you have Celiac disease is to have your blood tested. But the other issues are based more on trial and error and evaluations by your doctor. Many people today probably suffer from one of these problems without even knowing it. As it turns out, adults tend to ignore their own symptoms and learn to live with them instead of discussing them with their doctor. (I am a perfect example of this statement and I openly admit it! Hello! I didn’t even realize it was an issue…I thought it was just something that comes with getting older.)

So, I think maybe the next time I go in to see my doctor I will discuss my “findings” while on the DSP. I’ve already discovered that I’m a Protein Type through metabolic typing and now I may have figured out something even more important about how my body processes carbs. No matter what the doctor finds, I already know that I will never look at carbs the same way again.

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

