Chinese father punished for food safety activism – Yahoo! News


 

 

I was scanning the news this morning and came across this article. It really made me sick and sad at the same time. As a parent, I would do exactly the same thing as Zhao if my child had been hurt. I applaud this man for speaking out, regardless of any consequences to himself, to do what he believes is right. It is our human right to protect our children at any cost.

It seems especially appropriate to me today, on Veteran’s Day, to be thankful that I live in a country where our right to speak out against our government, to assemble freely, to speak to the press, and say just what is exactly on our minds is a guarantee provided by the First Amendment. I feel very strongly for this man, this father. Two and a half years is a long sentence for simply being a passionate, caring, and loving father trying to protect his son. I hope that his sentence is repealed and he is free to return home soon. But, somehow, I just don’t think it will be. God speed, Mr. Zhao.

 

AP – FILE - In this Jan. 22, 2009 file photo, Zhao Lianhai, center, the father of a boy sickened after he …

 

 

BEIJING – A father who organized a support group for other parents whose children were sickened in one of China’s worst food safety scandals was convicted and sentenced Wednesday to 2 1/2 years in prison for inciting social disorder, his lawyer said.

Chinese father punished for food safety activism – Yahoo! News.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

