Cinnamon-Persimmon Fruit Salad


I admit that a year ago I had never even seen a persimmon and certainly didn’t know what to do with one. But adventure is what I live for! So, when I saw them in our produce section I was curious about them. I went home and looked them up on the internet and promptly returned to the store and bought a couple. And that was just the beginning! They only come out for a short time in the fall, so when you see them in your produce section, grab ’em!

I made this yummy salad this morning for breakfast. It went perfectly with some leftover ham and scrambled eggs.

Cinnamon-Persimmon Fruit Salad

Ingredients:

Peel the bananas and tangerines. Slice bananas and separate the tangerines and put in a medium sized mixing bowl. Cut up pear(s). You can peel the pear if you prefer. I like to leave the peel on. Slice and cube the persimmons. They have a melon-type of consistency and texture.

Freshly sliced persimmon - pretty, huh?

Add the cubes of pear and persimmon to the bowl.  Add in ginger and cinnamon and gently mix into the fruit medley.

Gently mix the spices in with the fruit

Chill for about 30 minutes and serve. Enjoy!

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

4 responses to “Cinnamon-Persimmon Fruit Salad

  • Leah

    Jodie! This sounds so yummy!!! My mom has a persimmon tree in her back yard and we never know what to do with all the fruit. Usually, we just let the deer eat it. Well, they’re gonna have to share a few with me now! Thanks for the recipe. I can’t wait to try it.

    • Jodie Cordell

      I’m so glad to give you an alternative to letting the deer eat them!! They are really sweet and yummy! Yes, you have a wealth of lovely fruit right in your mom’s back yard! So many possibilities…. I’ll have to get back in the kitchen and create some other fun things for you to do with them!!! ;D
      Enjoy the persimmons!!! ❤

      And thank you for reading and commenting on my blog! xoxoxo

  • Janae

    My stepmom loves persimmons but I’ve never had one so I was ‘afraid’ to try. I have seen them @ the store lately so maybe I’ll pick a few up. Thx for the recipe!

    • Jodie Cordell

      I’ve seen some comments from people that say persimmons are their favorite fruit of the fall. And I’m becoming increasingly fond of them myself! I hope you discover them for yourself soon! Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

