Days 8 & 9: This Functional Life


I’m losing track of my days. These past two days seem to have run together. I didn’t really have a lot of time to plan my meals or think too much about it. Aiden has been out of school for three days this week due to the parent/teacher conferences at his school with Veteran’s Day stuck right in between. At least I had Denny home on Veteran’s Day to help me keep my sanity.

Someone actually asked last night at my volunteer group meeting, “Did anyone do anything fun on Veteran’s Day?” And I was drawing a blank. What the heck did I do on Veteran’s Day? I can’t even remember. It’s a little odd to me to forget an entire day. Poof! Just like that….

But, eventually, it came to me. We went to a birthday party for one of Aiden’s friends. It was very cute and the kids had a blast! It was a pirate themed party complete with eye patches and a treasure chest pinata. Though it was cold and wet out, the family had rented a giant bouncy castle, too.

Aiden was determined to break that pinata!

There was a giant cake, hot dogs, chips, fruit, some veggies and hot cocoa on the menu. I really should have eaten before we went, but I wasn’t hungry and I didn’t think of it. But even so, I remained true to my diet, eating hot dogs without the buns dipped in mustard, some apple slices and veggies. I steered clear of the hot cocoa, fixing some for my husband only. I drank my water instead. And I didn’t even think to touch that cake, though it smelled chocolatey-sweet.

Chocolate pirate cake - YUM!

Friday was another day centered around food. This time it was a pot luck with Denny’s co-workers. I was supposed to (as usual) bring some kind of dish up to Denny’s office to contribute. Since it was so last minute (it only came up on Wednesday afternoon) I whipped together something I’ve made for them before that seemed to be a big hit: Enchilada Casserole.

Turkey Enchilada Casserole

Though I love Mexican food in general and this is one dish I like that Denny doesn’t, I didn’t dare to eat any today.  I picked up some fried chicken, instead, and peeled the crusty skin (the best part) off and ate just the meat. Someone else brought some Swedish meatballs so I added some of them to my plate. I also had a small serving of cole slaw and some fresh veggies from a beautiful veggie tray. Lastly, someone brought some white chili that was just divine. So, I had a few more carbs than I normally would have, but I didn’t have any bread or pasta so I consider that a win.

The worst temptation was at the end of the day Friday. I had my volunteer group meeting late in the day at 4pm. It was held at the lead officer’s house where his wife had apparently spent all afternoon making a medley of fall cookies – molasses cookies with pumpkin dip, chocolate pecan thumbprints, some cake sandwich cookies with peppermint cream in the middle – along with a large batch of apple cider. Her house smelled amazing when we walked in. O. M. G. *sigh*

I caved just enough to have a cup of cider but resisted trying one of her cookies. I just knew myself well enough to know that if I had one, I would have another. So, I politely passed on all of them. But they looked divine.

Fate stepped in at one point just to taunt me I think. I was actually passing the giant plate of cookies around the table after it was freshly loaded with another warm batch of cookies, and a couple of the little chocolate thumbprint cookies, complete with wet “thumbprints” of Nutella on top of them, leapt off of the plate and into my lap…upside down. Now, I was wearing chocolate on the bottom of my sweater and the top of my pants. I simply thought to myself, “It’s gonna take a lot more than that to get me!” And from then on, I was more resolved than ever. But it was kinda funny…

What a couple of days! It’s been a bit of a whirlwind and I believe it’s going to get a bit worse. I have so many things on my plate right now…volunteer work, my substitute job, Denny on leave, Thanksgiving dinner for my family as well as all the things I will be cooking up for some airmen living in the dorms…and the list goes on. I hope I’m able to keep my resolve through it all.

So far, I haven’t felt much like I was dieting, just not eating certain things. But the pounds are melting away. I got up this morning (Saturday) in the very early quietest hours and gingerly stepped on the scale. Another pound shed. That’s a total of 4 lbs in 9 days. Not too shabby!

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

