Day 11: Football Sunday


Sunday is family jersey day!

Ahhhh, Sunday. I do love some Sunday football. Denny and I look forward to Sundays all week during football season. We both play fantasy football and each have our laptops set up in the living room in anticipation of the start of the games every week. Generally, Sunday also involves a bout of football food…pizza, hot wings, beer, chips and dip…the perfect food for watching the games.

Last week, I refrained from all of the pizza goodness and stuck to the hot wings exclusively. I make them myself so I know what’s on them. And I don’t like them breaded…naked is the only way to go. Frank’s Red Hot and a little melted butter on some fresh-from-the-oven chicken drumettes is simple and delicious. And they’re safe on my DSP.

But this week I wasn’t quite so discriminating. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t just out for a free-for-all. I still didn’t eat the pizza. In fact, the worst thing I ate was some breaded shrimp (skillet fried in virgin coconut oil, of course) that we bought pre-packaged. I also had bacon-wrapped scallops and, of course, my beloved chicken wings. Not too bad.

So, why do I feel so badly? We didn’t even drink! We bought some wine, beer and already had a stash of liquor with the intention of having a few while we indulge in our junk food. But I was so tired by the time we got down to the football part of the day that I never actually  got around to having any. So then, again, why in the world do I feel guilty about my day?

The truth is I don’t really know why. I had a guilty feeling last night as if I was doing something wrong. But I really didn’t. And it’s not because I deprived myself. Because obviously I didn’t really do that either. The only thing I did was prepare crap food for my husband to eat. Taquitos, egg rolls, popcorn shrimp…should that make me feel guilty? That sounds like a completely different issue/blog post. 😉

But Sunday Funday went well, despite all the junk food and processed food. It turns out I wasn’t even that hungry by the time we got started on the junk food anyway and didn’t eat much (except for the popcorn shrimp…hey, it could’ve been worse!)

My fantasy football team performed way above par and I would have been thrilled had I not fallen out on the freakin’ couch. I woke up several hours later to see I had scored well over 100 points and still had a couple of players left to play. Yes! I just wish I hadn’t slept through such a large part of the action.

Oh well, I’ll take a win any way I can get it. Wouldn’t you?

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

