Day 12: Sometime’s It’s Hard to Be a Woman


What a mess today has been. Not because of my DSP, but because I just happen to be a woman. Sometimes that job is harder than others.

My husband happens to have some time off from work for the next two weeks. Our plan was to get a jump start on some cleaning and rearranging in our house in preparation for the holidays. We need to get this done before we start putting anything new in our house.

It started out okay; we actually got a great workout in pretty early. But then I began to think of all the things we needed to get done and started to stress out. Denny kept looking at me saying, “Don’t worry! We’ll do what we can and not worry about it.” But I took little comfort in his words.

And then, the “yuckies” came. I started to feel lethargic, fatigued, bloated and worst of all, irritable. Again, not because of the DSP, but because I was turning into the Menstrual Monster.

I’m so grateful to have such an understanding husband. He’s the most wonderful person in the world when I start to get that way every month. He’s kind and caring. And most importantly, has learned when to leave me alone!

He did a lot of stuff around the house while I was just not in the mood to do it. He did laundry, moved furniture, picked up the house and washed the dishes in the kitchen sink. He took a lot of the stress off of me just by doing some household chores.

Seriously, I felt completely lazy. But in my defense, having the curse, or TOM (Time of Month) is really a pain in the ass. It just lays me out some months. I felt like total crap all freakin’ day!

Thank goodness for my hubby. At the end of the day, as I was splayed out on the couch, in my pajamas and feeling miserable, Denny surprised me and brought a glass of wine. He said, “I thought you could use it.” I smiled. He knows me so well.

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

