Day 13: Corn is For Chickens & Pigs, Not Humans


I remember growing up my mom made dinner every night that consisted of three (sometimes four) components – a meat component, a potato component and a vegetable component. The optional component was bread. Sometimes my mom would just bring the loaf of bread to the table with some butter.

Everbody loves corn!

The reason I mention this is because there were nights my mom would make the meat and potatoes and then for the vegetable would serve corn. I’m sure I’m not the only kid who grew up eating corn as a vegetable. I never realized it wasn’t a vegetable until I was much older. For clarification: Corn is not a vegetable…it’s a grain. On nights when we had meat, potatoes, corn and bread with butter, well that was a very unbalanced meal! All starch, no substance. But still, who doesn’t love some mashed potatoes and corn together, right? I have loved this combo my whole life. But, again, corn is not a vegetable…it’s a GRAIN!

When I began the DSP, I happily gave up grains in order to eat more for my metabolic type, Protein Type. That also meant giving up corn. I became very much aware how much corn we have in our lives.

Today I had a lunch meeting with one of my leadership groups. Everyone was sitting around a large table enjoying some wonderful conversations. Then I hear from across the room, one of the ladies said “it’s so nice to have corn.” I was immediately intrigued and perked up to listen in on the conversation.

One of the ladies was talking about someplace she had lived where the people did not eat corn. She went on to say that the farmers used corn to feed the animals, pigs and chickens, but did not eat it themselves. Corn is for the animals, not for people.

I couldn’t help but think that maybe there was some merit to this philosophy. Maybe corn was put on this planet to be consumed by animals, but then the Aztecs and Mayans came along and claimed the food. They cultivated corn and found many uses for it including, even though it was not in their best interest, human consumption. Maybe we were never supposed to eat corn.

But that would mean no corn on the cob, no popcorn, no cornbread, no corn tortillas, no corn flakes cereal, no cornstarch…the list goes on. That’s a lot of things made from corn.Today, corn is one of the biggest crops in the U.S. and is popular throughout most of the world. It’s actually used mainly for animal feed, even in the U.S., as well as a long list of other non-human-consumption uses. Think ethanol.

But corn is full of sugar and little else of nutritional value. Plus the fact that people tend to forget that corn is not a vegetable could lead to the over-consumption of grains or other starchy carbs. What a mess.

Since giving up grains, I have felt better than I’ve felt in a very long time. I can’t even remember the last time I didn’t have to contend with the puffy, bloating, gassy, uncomfortable and irritable feelings that have disappeared in the past two weeks. It’s been heaven!

Brownies!

For me, giving up grains has not really been that difficult. I haven’t really missed it much. Okay, so it was difficult in the beginning giving up foods that spark childhood memories or comforts. I love food, as I’ve said in the past, and some foods trigger warm and fuzzy sensations. Brownies come to mind!

But for me, it’s a matter of choice. Priorities. It’s a choice between having that cupcake, dinner roll or serving of corn and dealing with the consequences of feeling that horrible way I had been feeling before, or opting out and feeling good on the inside. For me, that choice has become very simple.

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

