Day 15: The Food Gods Are Against Me Today


What a day this has been! Today we had to go to Ramstein for a function and decided to make a day of it. I didn’t send Aiden to school so we could spend the whole day there. We wanted to get some serious shopping in while we had the opportunity.

We love shopping at the gigantic BX at Ramstein!

We got there just in time to have lunch and decided to eat at the Macaroni Grill in the mall on base. Denny always gets really excited about Macaroni Grill because he loves pasta!

Everything seemed fine and I ordered the “Skinny Chicken” plate. The bread came to the table, but I didn’t touch it. Denny said it was not worth touching anyway since it wasn’t all that great. Good call.

On a side note, I brought along my bottle of Stevia powder and enjoyed it in some fresh ice tea. It was awesome!

Our food arrived and I was immediately suspiscious…my chicken looked a little like…salmon! I flagged down our waitress and pointed out the mistake. So, my plate disappeared into the kitchen. I looked at Denny’s plate…he didn’t order pasta. He ordered risotto instead with a beautiful looking halibut. It really looked yummy. And Aiden had a kid’s pepperoni pizza that looked great, too. And I was looking at the empty spot where my plate once was. I can’t lie – I definitely had to try Denny’s risotto…a few times. It was really good. Either that or I was hungry.

By the time my food came Denny was nearly done with his lunch. I was very happy to see my plate and find a very nice chicken breast with grill marks. Yes. But the rest of my plate left me with more questions. The “Skinny Chicken” was supposed to include asparagus and broccoli. Well, the asparagus was not asparagus, but green beans…that were mostly raw. They were a tad too crunchy for me. And the broccoli was mostly raw, too. So, I ate the chicken and picked at the veggies. Luckily, the tea was tasty and I drank enough to quell my hunger. So much for lunch…

After we spent the next several hours shopping, we realized we needed to eat again before heading back home. This time we went to Chili’s on the base. After the unexciting lunch at Macaroni Grill, we were hoping for a reprieve. I ordered my usual small steak plate. It usually comes with some “seasonal veggies” but I needed something else. I asked for some mashed potatoes. (I know, not the best choice, but I was needing some substance.) Our food came pretty quickly and my chops started to water. Everything looked great on first inspection. But looks can be deceiving…

I cut into my steak and took a bite. Something was off. I inspected my meat and thought it looked a little more red than the medium rare I had ordered. I took another bite and thought it felt cold. Hmmmm. Not what I was expecting. I mentioned it to Denny and he touched it. It was colder than room temperature. Again, the food gods were taunting me, teasing me it seemed. My meat was raw.

Again, I flagged down our waitress to send my plate back to the kitchen. I waited eagerly while watching the boys eat their dinner. Denny ate his fries but wanted to wait until I got my food before he started on his chicken sandwich. That was sweet. But I didn’t want him to wait until his food was cold before he ate it. I urged him to go ahead.

Finally, my steak returned. I was excited again. They had also piled even more mashed potatoes on my plate…enough to feed an entire table. They were hot – very hot. I cut into my steak with massive anticipation. I put the warm bite in my mouth and chewed…slowly. Savoring the flavor. But something seemed wrong. The texture was off. The taste was off. This is not what I was expecting…my steak was not okay.

Maybe it was my head telling me to worry. Maybe I had psyched myself out of eating it, thinking it was bad meat. I let Denny try it and he thought it wasn’t right either. I have had this steak plate at Chili’s several times and it just didn’t taste the same. Either way, I couldn’t bring myself to eat it. I ate some potatoes. And that was it.

 

Denny and Aiden had a wonderful lunch and dinner. They were ready to head home with full bellies and fully satisfied.

The waitress was kind enough to take it off our ticket and offered to make something else for me “to go.” But my mind (and stomach) was not in it. My appetite was definitely gone. In fact, on the way home, I kept feeling like I should vomit just to get the few bites I had out of my system.

The food gods were toying with me today. I had very bad luck all day long. I’m just glad I had a great breakfast that kept me going all day. Oh well. Tomorrow is another day.

On the very positive side, I measured and weighed in this morning and discovered some impressive results. As of this morning, I have lost 5 lbs. I also dropped a half inch from my chest, lower abs and arms. My waist is 2 in. smaller than it was two weeks ago. All in all, I’d say I did exceptionally well…and with minimal efforts. (I’ll be the first to admit that my workouts have been lagging since I started. My schedule has been extremely out of whack!) So, I face the next few weeks with a sense of accomplishment and hope. I am confident that I will continue to make strides toward my goals.

So, screw the food gods! They may have won today’s small battle, but it looks like I’m winning the war! 😉

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

