Day 22: A Day to Give Thanks


This week has been the worst. I felt so horrible all week long. The worst was when I stepped on the scale and saw that the whole five pounds I had previously lost was back…sitting in my bowels, apparently. I was emotionally distraught on top of my physical misery.

But today is different! Today I feel a thousand times better. It’s Turkey Day! Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because it’s one of the holidays when people make turkey. I LOVE TURKEY! And we had some big Turkey Day plans.

We were invited to some friends’ house for dinner and games. We packed some overnight stuff, too, as we were planning on doing some drinking and playing Mexican train, one of my family’s favorite games. I made some homemade macaroni & cheese, twice baked potato casserole, bought a fresh baked pumpkin pie (due to time constraints) and some Parker House rolls. We also threw in a bottle of gluhwein, fresh from the bazaar, as a gift for our hosts. We added several more bottles of wine to drink and some toys for Aiden and we were all set. We were on the road in no time!

We arrived ahead of most of the other guests. But within the next hour, several people began to appear. The house smelled of dressing baking in the oven. Our hostess makes it the way my family does and it smelled divine…a small hint of home. The boys were outside on the patio with the deep fryer for the turkey. A giant bird, 20 pounds, was prepped and dipped. The day was promising to be a good one.

Everyone brought different dishes and we ended up having tons of food. Yams, sweet potatoes, broccoli cheese and rice casserole, green bean casserole, pecan pie, pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread and our lovely hostess made the very best cheesecake I’ve ever eaten! Everything looked and smelled like home.

There were several kids for Aiden to play with and he had the very best time. We broke out the Scene It Squabble game after dinner and divided the guests into men and women. After the women whooped up on the men, we decided to switch it up. We played another board game, men versus women, where the women continued their reign of supremacy.

I guess the men were tired of losing so we finally broke out the dominoes for Mexican train. I so love playing this game. My family plays this game several times a year when we can all get together. They taught Denny how to play when we first got together. And he has since fallen in love with it, too. It was a very special treat to get to play the game with our new friends. I have to say, Denny and I were totally enjoying the moment.

We drank our wine, we drank beer, we ate turkey and dressing, some cheesecake and a whole lot of other lovely dishes. We had so much fun. Before we knew it, it was 3am. Time for bed. We crashed at our friends’ home for the night…it’s a long drive back home.

Winter has arrived

The next morning we woke up to a sea of white. It had snowed overnight and the scene was beautiful. What a wonderful drive home. I have to admit, we were very glad to get back home, though. We had a very nice time on Thanksgiving, but there’s just no substitute for home.

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

