Day 24: What I’ve Learned from My Disastrous Week


Okay. So it’s the end of the week and it’s been a real doozy! I began the week with a severe blockage that took four days to resolve. Then I completely went off the DSP for the rest of the week. And here we are…

I think that I made some really big, important-to-note mistakes in my DSP which de-railed me. When I was feeling really badly, I remembered that I had done this to myself before. I had the very same experience with the Atkins diet many years ago and that was why I got off of that diet.

First – you cannot go completely off, or restrict too much, your intake of grains unless you really have a problem with them. You need a lot of nutritional elements that come from eating whole grains. So, unless you have Celiac disease, a food allergy, or gluten sensitivity, don’t completely cut out the grains! Very important lesson.

Second – when the DSP says take it easy on the wine and other alcoholic beverages, then take it easy on the alcohol. During the weekend of the Bazaar, Denny and I drank a lot of wine and other fun alcoholic drinks. This most likely slowed down my metabolism and over-worked my liver. Not good for my fat loss.

Third – no matter how tired I feel, take it easy on the caffeine. I didn’t realize it until a few days later, but I have been drinking lots of coffee in the mornings. I worked all week and had tons of meetings and was drinking it without noticing how much I was drinking. I drink my coffee black, so I’m not over-consuming calories, but coffee (and any caffeine drink) dehydrates the body. When your body is in dehydration, it’s really hard for it to function efficiently.

Fourth – since I was drinking so much coffee during the day, guess what I wasn’t drinking.  That’s right – water! I was drinking far too little water and drinking water is the one magic potion for burning fat. It keeps the body firing the way it was meant to. I must drink water, no matter what!

So, after I crashed and burned this week, I can start this next week on the right foot. Time to get back on that horse and start again. I feel good now that the issue is resolved. So, there’s no better time to reboot.

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

