Day 41: Back to the Drawing Board


Today I looked up and more than a week had gone by since I made my last post. I have not been on the DSP for about two weeks now. I’ve totally gotten off that track and have been sitting around not doing ANYTHING!!

Truthfully, I got super busy with holiday parties and meetings and I started back to school for my MBA. I’ve been so busy I’ve hardly had time to think, much less stress about my program. I just couldn’t be bothered.

The downside to that is I haven’t had any exercise in three or four weeks now. I’ve put back on a couple of pounds and I’ve felt like crap. Let’s face it, when you are getting your regular exercise in, you feel good. When you slack off, you feel like crap. Always. That’s the way it is.

On that note, I think that my progress on the DSP would probably have been much better had I been getting that exercise in. Maybe some of my physical ailments would have been worked out had I been working out. But, I totally blew off the exercise portion of the program all together and paid for it dearly.

But, tonight Zumba makes it’s way to our base and I intend to be one of the first ones there to test it out. I’m hoping that it is as popular as it was back in Texas before I left and I’m able to sign up for these classes multiple times per week. I’m very excited!

Plus, Denny and I bought ourselves  a Wii for Christmas this year, complete with the Wii fit plus software. That should be a lot of fun for us! I’m so excited!

But, I went back to the doctor yesterday for my hip issue. It’s gotten worse, probably has a little to do with the fact that I’ve been slacking on my exercise and sitting on my butt in front of the computer a lot more. But the pain is back and in full swing. I got my first steroid injection in two years in my hip yesterday and I’m going back to physical therapy…again. *sigh*

Hopefully, some of the pain will subside with all this extra effort this time. But I have to be very careful, whether I get back on the DSP or I give a new program (I’m looking at Combat the Fat program right now) a try, I’ll need to be mindful of the steroid effect…increased appetite and emotional swings. So, I can’t let that get out of control. I’m just hoping I won’t need them for very long. I just wish doctors could figure out why I still have pain and just fix it already! Jeez! Is that asking too much?

Anyway, I need to figure out which way I’m going to go and get started. Christmas is around the corner and I don’t want to get myself in a rut so far I won’t get out so easily. If I go in swinging, maybe I can beat the whole Holiday weight increase altogether. We’ll see…

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

