Week 5: Let’s Talk Excuses and Results


Let’s be honest here…I will admit that I have been slacking off of my blog, my workouts, my diet, my everything these past few weeks. It’s not that I have just thrown in the towel. I’ve just been busy and sick. But let’s really be honest – there are a million and one excuses you can use on a daily basis for not taking care of yourself, but in the end you are the one who suffers when you continue to make excuses. It’s really up to you (as in, me) to make the commitment to be/live/eat/play healthy.

It’s true, I’ve been sick for nearly three weeks, but there are things I can do to keep up my exercise regimen. I’ve done some here and there and it’s probably better to not over do it during the time that I’m sick. But now I really need to step it up.

Me and Denny workin' the dance floor. I'm feeling good in my skin these days.

I’ve actually done okay these past few weeks. I missed my January goal of 147 lbs, but I’ve hit that since then. I chalk that up to not eating so much. When you are not feeling well, usually you lose a bit of your appetite. So, I’m not walking around like I won the lottery or anything. But, I have actually seen some progress. My belly is a little flatter. My jeans have become baggy on me. I’m buying a smaller size and they’re fitting. So, I’ve definitely lost some inches here and there. And as of today, I’m down to 147 lbs. Not too bad.

There's more than one way to get your workout on!

But the important thing is to stay on my exercise regimen. It seems like every time I set a goal to boost my exercise program (ie. go to extra classes at the gym, start a new video workout, begin a transformation challenge, etc.) something happens…I usually get sick. I lose all motivation during that down time and then I find it really hard to get it back when I’m ready to start again. But I’m determined to make this time different. I know that exercise is the key for my weight loss goals and I need to make that commitment to stay on track. Exercise is the answer.

I have not been following the DSP, in case you haven’t noticed. It’s not that I’ve totally thrown it all out the window…I am choosing more organic foods every week. I actually really like using the coconut oil instead of canola oil for high heat cooking…especially eggs! I prefer the flavor of grass-fed beef to the regular stuff. And even though these foods cost substantially more, I really am making an effort to choose them more often.

I recently watched the movie, Food, Inc. and was upalled at what our food industry has become. It really made me aware of a lot of things and made me feel a little sick. This movie should be seen by everyone, I feel that strongly about it. It’s our food supply, for crying out loud!

So, it’s not that I’m not paying attention to what I put in my mouth. I’m just trying to make smart choices one moment at a time. We are faced with different choices many, many times each day and I think it’s more about your mindset when faced with all of these choices that really makes the difference. We make the choice to eat at Burger King instead of Subway. We decide to go out for dinner instead of making a nice, healthy dinner at home. We decide to buy the sugary sweet cereal instead of the healthier, shredded wheat type one. We make the choice to have that coffee cake with our coffee instead of a better option, like fruit. We make little decisions all day long that affect our overall health and many people make that decision without even thinking about it. I strive to always be thinking about my health when faced with these constant decisions. In that way, I’m being mindful of my diet.

Counting calories, food journals, meal planners…these are all very helpful but can become cumbersome to keep up with throughout the day. Of course, in order to really lose a lot of weight, you have to know that you are creating a calorie deficit each day. And these tools are awesome for that. But I prefer to just keep doing what I know I need to do – don’t over-eat, be very mindful of my portion sizes, keep working out a lot, and make smart choices. We tell our kids to make smart choices every day. The best way to make sure they get that message is to be the example that they can follow. Make smart choices every day. Don’t be afraid to indulge every once in a while, but striving to make the best choices for your health daily should be the norm instead of the exception.

I have to say that I feel pretty good about my body these days and that’s a direct result of the amount of workouts I’ve gotten in these past few weeks. I don’t feel as good when I’ve slacked off, but when I get them in I feel like a million bucks! So, I’m sticking to what works…

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

