Moving Is Hard On the Waistline


Have you ever noticed how much differently you eat while you’re packing boxes and moving your end tables into a big truck? I know that I hate moving. I have done it way too many times to recall. I think I’ve pretty much always lived a transient lifestyle…never staying in a place too long. Well, at least it’s never dull! But still, I hate doing it.

This past week I’ve been moving into a new place. I’m totally in love with the new place and I’m excited about living in it. But, moving is a stressful thing to do…one of the most stressful, according to many reports on the subject.  And now, one other thing I’ve noticed with this move is how much crappy food I “allow” myself to eat. And it’s not just what…it’s also how much!

On our first big moving day we finally got around to having lunch around 3:30pm. Yes, it was late and yes, our choices are quite limited without the ability to cook at home, but we opted for a pizza place around the corner. It’s claim is “American Pizza” made in the New York tradition. I was looking forward to it, actually, as I had been wanting to try it since we moved to Germany. And it was good. So good, in fact, that I thought it would be totally okay to have 2 1/2 slices of it. Mind you, this is New York style slices…you can wrap one slice around a soda can and still have some leftover. We got a 20 in. pepperoni pizza and I ate more than 1/4th of the thing. Ridiculous!

I don’t know if it’s all the lifting, packing, going up and down tons of stairs (it is Europe, after all) but it’s like I just decided that since we were in the middle of a move that I could eat whatever I wanted and not worry about it. Like I’m in a “time out” period and can resume normal eating habits after the move is over.

Let me tell you, it’s really no fun stepping on the scale and seeing an “increase” when you know it’s not from adding muscle. It’s from eating 2 1/2 slices of freakin’ pizza. It wasn’t just the pizza, either. Since we began this move, I’ve eaten doughnuts (always a “no-no” any other time,) hot dogs, macaroni and cheese from a box (ewww!) soda (yep!) and Chef Boyardee from a can! It’s like I’m eating like a teenager! Oh, and let’s not forget about the trip to McDonald’s! Most of these things I would not eat ever, but somehow they have all made their way into my mouth during the past several days. Disgusting.

At this point, I have no excuse. I’m stressed. I’m PMS-y. I’m completely irritable. I’m doing a lot of lifting and climbing stairs. But, I still should know better. It’s not just about losing weight. (Although I’m running out of time for that goal…I’m down to just four months until our trip to Texas.) But it’s also about eating real food. Non-processed, non-injected, non-genetically modified (GMOs,) farm-grown/raised food that is good for my body. It’s about my (and my family’s ) healthy eating habits. My son watches everything I do and hears everything I say. If I talk about eating healthy and then turn around and eat a McDonald’s hamburger, what is the message I’m sending him?

Although, I know I’m sending the right message most of the time. It became evident to me when we went to the McDonald’s drive-thru for dinner. We were eating our meals and I gave my son a Big Mac. He picked at it a bit and then looked at me and said, ” Mom, I don’t like this meat. It doesn’t taste good. And besides, it’s not good for me.”

I can’t say I disagree.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

