My Passion, My Love, My Enemy…


Summer is here! I have been looking forward to warmer weather for soooo long.  After living in Germany for the past two years, I’ve come to the conclusion that I was not built for colder climates. My butt belongs in Texas. People back home keep posting about the unbearable heat on facebook and I keep dreaming of 100+ degree temperatures as I read them. We’re planning on heading back to Texas for a visit soon and I’m getting super excited. In the meantime, though, here I am in Germany, the weather cold and rainy, dreaming of poolside lounging.

But, if you look at the calendar, summer starts tomorrow. And I can’t believe I let it creep up on me this way. It’s summer and I’m not bikini-ready. What happened? How did I let six months go by without losing all the fat I had planned on losing? Well, I think I may now know the answer to that question:  Alcohol.

Okay, my friends, you’ve heard the advice a thousand times before – if you are trying to lose weight, alcohol of ALL TYPES is your arch nemesis, you’re enemy. Beer, wine and liquor are definitely NOT your friends. So, it’s time to say, “So long, Gentleman Jack and Jose Cuervo, it’s time to cut ties…at least for a while.”

Recently, my doc put me on an antibiotic for a nearly two week regimen. While taking this medication, alcohol is strictly prohibited. I’ve only been off of alcohol for five days and I can already see and feel a difference. I was forced to go completely dry, but now that I’ve seen what the alcohol was keeping me from achieving, I don’t want to go back to it too soon.

In the past five days, I’ve had less grogginess, less bloat, better sleep and I’ve seen a difference in my waistline. That tells me that I was doing everything else right…but the wine was holding me back. I’ve lost between two and three pounds in just the last five days. I’m assuming some of that was excess water, but still. I am truly amazed at how much a difference this has made.

Aiden's birthday cake...the biggest birthday cake EVER!

My son’s birthday party was last weekend and I was so afraid to indulge in his beautiful birthday cake. (It was truly amazing…a giant pirate ship! So cool!) I didn’t want to over-indulge in anything! I had a very small piece and refrained from eating anything  else. But I gained anyway.  However, just the other day, my son and I made strawberry cupcakes together, complete with little gumdrops on top. I was staying within my calorie-count, but I didn’t stop myself from having one of those beautiful cupcakes. And I still lost weight! That is the power of alcohol.

This is the lesson I’ve learned…the hard way: Alcohol trumps sugar every time.

I really do enjoy my wine (and cocktails from time to time.) And truth be told, I enjoy a glass or two most nights. I’ve really been enjoying the fact that I live in one of the best wine-producing regions in the world. But while I still haven’t reached my goal, I can’t afford to continue sabotaging my efforts.

Cocktails, cocktails and more cocktails...my saboteur.

It really pains me to think I’ve been doing it right all along…low-calorie diet, plenty of exercise, mostly water to drink, given up all sodas a long time ago…but I still haven’t reached my goals because I couldn’t let go of the wine.

I’m not saying that the occasional night out with the girls or a nice glass of wine with dinner while out with my hubby is out of the question. And once I reach my goal and I’m in maintenance mode, it will be a lot different. But for me, I’ve seen the light. In order to get to where I want to be, I will have to stay off of the wine for a while. Wish me luck!

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

