The Bikini Test…


We’re set to head to Texas in just under two weeks. So, yesterday, determined to give myself a little extra motivation, I ordered a new bikini and had it sent to my mom’s house.  I haven’t really worn a bikini in the last few years, since I put on the excess weight. But I really love wearing bikinis and used to all the time.

This is back in 2006 on the beach in Mexico. Not my most fit, but a time when I really enjoyed sporting a bikini!

I’m hoping that just knowing that a hot, sexy, new bikini will be waiting for me will keep me on the straight and narrow path I need to stay on. Hopefully, if all goes according to plan, I’ll be able to look at least as good as I did in the above pic by the time I get to Texas.

I’ve been staying away from the wine (yay, me!) and controlling my calories pretty well. My biggest obstacle is the extra exercise I need to squeeze in. Now that summer’s here, my six year old son is home…all day, every day! So, I have to use my DVDs more instead of going to the gym.

I do have my super cool DVDs…P90X, Turbo Jam, Turbo Fire, Insanity, Hip Hop Abs…all at my disposal. (I’m a Team Beachbody Coach, afterall!) And I actually did my first P90X workout this morning. I did the Chest & Back workout and I think that tomorrow I will wish my arms would just fall off. Hahaha! But, I’m going to stick with it. Between my DVDs, softball and my zumba classes, I will be able to stay pretty active and keep that strength training going until I get to my vacay in Texas.

Feelin' good in Mexico! Back in 2006 (I can't believe that was nearly 5 years ago) when I was NOT shy about my body!

I talked to my best friend yesterday…she’s been doing a lot of working out, too, while doing Weight Watchers. She’s lost another 2% body fat in just four weeks. She’s working with a trainer and apparently she had no qualms about showing off the work she’s done to get in shape…of course, she’s sporting a hot bikini! She’s also been doing the “cheat day” once a week to keep herself going on her eating regimen.

So, now the pressure’s on!!! I know that when I’m hangin’ out by the pool in Texas, I’ll be drinking. That’s just what’s going to happen. Hangin’ out with my girlfriends I haven’t seen in the past two years, I’ll be drinking like a fish. But I’m also hoping that I can spend some time in the gym while I’m there. I want to get a temporary membership and go with my girlfriend. The two of us together will be able to keep each other motivated to keep going. I miss that about having her around. We used to do so much active stuff together. Now we’re worlds apart and doing it separately. I miss her.

So, I’m making myself accountable. To you…to me…to anyone! I’m making a promise to myself that I will work harder in this next full week and get as close as I possibly can to my goal. I won’t shed 20 lbs. or anything, but I can at least look good in my new bikini!

To a healthier, happier and longer life.

About Jodie M Cordell

I am a military spouse and a freelance writer/copywriter. I love to write and fill my time writing for both pleasure and profession. I specialize in advertising and marketing but have a passion for food, nutrition and health. I spend my free time writing about the wonderful things I learn regarding food and nutrition and enjoy sharing all the things I find with others. View all posts by Jodie M Cordell

Leave a Reply

